Stranka Avenue in Paisley, close to the Lord Lounsdale pub in Lounsdale Road. The trees in the picture sit on the trackbed that ran came from Meiklerigs Junction where it connected to the Paisley Canal Line via Corsebar Junction and Potterhill Junction. The Potterhill Branch opened in 1902 as a circular route from St Enoch to Barrhead via Paisley and the Glasgow, Barrhead and Paisley Joint Railway (and was to be in competition with the Caledonian Railway Paisley & Barrhead District Railway). However, this only lasted until 1907 when it was discontinued, and trains contiued to Barrhead via Nitshill, and via Paisley to Barrhead Central. The line from Potterhill to Barrhead closed in 1913 to passengers, and in 1917 the route closed completely to passengers. Bus and tram use meant the line was never popular and it was unprofitable. This was the same reason the Caledonian route was never used by passengers. In 1909 Corsebar Junction to Barrhead was singled and the signal boxes closed meaning Meiklerigs Junction was abolished and Potterhill Junction on the Paisley Canal Line was closed and lifted. The Potterhill Branch lasted until 1970, being used for freight during this time.
barrhead branchpotterhill branchglasgow and south western railwaypaisley canal line
From Around Paisley