Newton Stewart Station, view looking East in the direction of Castle Douglas. The station was opened in 1861 as part of the Portpatrick Railway (from Portpatrick to Castle Douglas). This was also the terminus of the Wigtownshire Railway which ran to Whithorn which was opened in 1875 and completed in 1877. The station closed in 1965.
The Portpatrick Railway operated by the Caledonian Railway from 1864 to 1885, and from 1885 the Portpatrick & Wigtownshire Joint Railway was formed operating both lines, and was owned by Caledonian, Glasgow & South Western, London & North Western and Midland railways. It later became part of the LMS.
The lines were closed in stages; Portpatrick to Stranraer in 1950, Challoch Junction to Castle Douglas in 1965, Garlieston Branch on the Wigtownshire Railway to passengers in 1903 and completely in 1964, Newton Stewart to Whithorn to passengers in 1950 and completely in 1964. The station has been cleared and built over, but the locomotive shed remains and still in use.